Australia Won ICC Women’s World Cup For The 6th Time

Australia Won ICC Women's World Cup For The 6th Time

It was Australia who succeeded in winning the ICC women’s World Cup for the 6th time after overcoming South Africa in the final on Sunday. Incidentally, Australia registered a victory by a margin of 19 runs thanks to a half-century from Beth Mooney who was adjudicated the player of the match in the final.

Australia gave a target of 157 runs to the hosts South Africa who finished the second-best despite a fantastic performance from Laura Wolvaardt. The opener was able to score 61 runs from 48 balls while chasing the target.

According to Ash Gardner, the Australian all-rounder, they were waiting for this moment for a long time since the previous World Cup. Incidentally, Gardner was given the honor of becoming the Player of the Tournament. She further added that they succeeded in playing amazing cricket during the entire tournament. Although they were not in a winning position always during the final, they succeeded in fighting till the end and emerging the victors. Gardner likewise added that she was extremely proud of this team of which she is an integral part.

Meg Lanning turned out to be the first captain who has succeeded in winning as many as five ICC tournaments. In this way, there is no doubt that Lanning can be considered to be among the contemporary greats in the world of cricket.

On the other hand, Sune Luus, the captain of the South African team cracked a joke following the defeat that the Australians were extremely annoying. Luus also declared that the Australians were motivating the world of cricket for quite some time. She was of the notion that many players try to follow the Australians who indeed showed their class once again in the final. They really deserve the victory and all the credit goes to them.

A summary of the final

After winning the toss, Austria chose to bat first. In the early stages of the match, Alyssa Healy survived a review after a delivery from Shabmin Ismail struck her front pad. However, according to the umpire, the delivery was going down the leg side.

However, South Africa succeeded in breaking the opening partnership of the Australians in the fifth over when Healy returned to the pavilion after scoring 18 runs from 20 deliveries.

The dependable Australian opener Mooney struggled as well in finding the gaps. Gardner was able to hit 2 over boundaries after being promoted to number three.

Chloe Tryon, the vice-captain of the hosts started bowling in the 12th over and was able to dismiss Gardner who went for only 29 from 21 deliveries. After the dismissal of Grace Harris and Lanning, Mooney hammered her 50 in the 18th over from only 44 deliveries.

The fielding of the South Africans was up to the mark and they restricted the Australians to 156 eventually.

The South African chase

The hosts started rather slowly; however, they took advantage of some poor Australian fielding and succeeded in keeping the scoreboard ticking. However, the visitors struck the first blow in the fifth over when Tazmin Brits returned to the dugout after scoring 10 from 17 balls.

Kapp did not bat for a long time and was able to make only 11. Luus was run out unfortunately in the 11th over and the hosts were on the back foot. Although Wolvaardt managed to score quickly, the target run rate of South Africa began to climb quickly with every over.

South Africa needed 43 runs from 18 deliveries; however, Tryon got dismissed for 25 from 23 deliveries. This dismissal turned the match in the favor of the Australians. Anneke Bosch was run out after making just one, and the Australians clinched the title deservingly.

Anuradha G

Senior Content writer in KEIZO.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button