FIFA Women World Cup 2023 To Be Hosted By Australia And New Zealand

FIFA Women World Cup 2023 To Be Hosted By Australia And New Zealand

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is going to be the 9th edition of the FIFA World Cup for women. Australia and New Zealand will host this tournament jointly, and it will take place from 20 July to 20 August this year.

It happens to be the initial FIFA World Cup for women to have in excess of one host nation. Moreover, it will likewise be the initial senior World Cup for either men or women that will take place across multiple confederations given that New Zealand falls under the Oceanian Confederation while Australia falls under the Asian Confederation. Apart from this, the tournament will also feature as many as 32 teams for the first time, unlike 24 teams in the previous World Cup. In fact, it is repeating the identical format used for the World Cup for men from 1998 to 2202.

Incidentally, Norway and New Zealand will battle it out in the opening match on 20 July 2023 at Eden Park, Auckland. The final will happen at Sydney Olympic Stadium located in Australia on 20 August this year. The defending champions are the United States which has already won as many as 2 tournaments previously.

Here, we like to mention that England is in Group D while the Republic of Ireland is in Group B along with hosts Australia.

Who has already qualified for the World Cup?

There will be as many as 32 teams in the World Cup for women, unlike the previous World Cup held in 2019. The most notable teams featuring in this tournament are Australia, New Zealand, Morocco, Nigeria, Canada, South Korea, Philippines, China, Argentina, Colombia, Brazil, Denmark, United States, England, Germany, France, Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Norway, and Sweden.

Incidentally, Panama and Portugal have qualified for the final 3 slots after registering victories in their groups in February at the inter-confederation play-off tournament.

All these 32 teams that are playing in the World Cup had been divided into as many as 4 pots according to the FIFA Women’s World Rankings. The first pot contained Australia as well as New Zealand together with the top 6 ranked teams including the US and England. The Republic of Ireland was in the 3rd pot. Apart from the exception of UEFA, it was not possible to draw teams from the identical Confederation in the same group.

What is the schedule?

The schedule is that the group stage will commence on 20 July and go on for a span of two weeks while finishing on 3rd August. The matches for the round of 16 will take place from 5th August to 8th August. Moreover, the quarterfinals will take place on 11th August and 12th August in Brisbane, Sydney, Wellington, and Auckland. The first semi-final will take place in Auckland on 15th August and the other semi-final is scheduled for 16th August. The final is going to happen in Sydney on the 20th of August.

Anuradha G

Senior Content writer in KEIZO.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button